Services Covered By Medicaid

In order to receive federal matching funds, state Medicaid programs are required to cover the following services for their mandatory populations:

  • Inpatient and outpatient hospital services
  • Physician, midwife, and nurse practitioner services
  • Nursing home services for persons aged 21 and older
  • Home health services for persons who qualify for nursing home care
  • Pregnancy-related services
  • Family planning services and supplies
  • Laboratory and x-ray services
  • Federally qualified health center and rural health clinic services
  • Emergency services for non-citizens
  • Early and periodic screening, diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) services for individuals under age 21

States may also receive federal funds to cover optional services for eligible individuals. Some of these include:

  • Eye glasses and eye exams
  • Hearing aids
  • Durable medical equipment
  • Clinic services
  • Nursing home services for persons under age 21
  • Intermediate care facility services for persons with intellectual disabilities.
  • Home and community-based services
  • Dental, optometry, prosthetic, and tuberculosis